Home > Car Brands > T-U-V > Toyota > RAV 4

2009 Toyota RAV4 Facelift, Cosmetic and Feature Changes - (Australia)

October 21st, 2008
Previous - Next

Toyota has upgraded its RAV4 range with a package of active and passive safety features, as well as new technology and comfort features.

Active front-seat head restraints have been adopted as standard equipment across the nine-model RAV4 range - to reduce the chance of whiplash injury in a rear-end collision.

Driver's knee SRS airbag has been adopted as standard equipment on seven models, and is available as an option on entry level four-cylinder CV-grade.

The driver's knee SR airbag option on RAV4 CV is part of a combined option pack that also includes front-seat side SRS airbags, front and rear side curtain shield airbags, and front dual-zone climate controlled air conditioning.

The overall RAV4 upgrade means all RAV4 and RAV4 V6 models now have vehicle stability control (VSC), traction control (TRC) and Hill-start Assist Control (HAC) as standard equipment, and all automatic transmission models have Downhill Assist Control (DAC).

The vehicle stability control system includes a VSC-off switch.

RAV4's impressive list of safety and technology improvements also includes the adoption of an electro-chromatic interior rear-view mirror on high-grade ZR6 and four-cylinder Cruiser L.

In addition, RAV4 Cruiser, Cruiser L, SX6 and ZR6 now have auto on/off headlamps.

RAV4's comfort improvements include the addition of climate-controlled air conditioning on the entry level six-cylinder CX6 model.

RAV4 also has new alloy wheels, with a new five-spoke design replacing six-spoke wheels on four-cylinder RAV4 Cruiser and Cruiser L, and new six-spoke wheels replacing five-spoke on V6 SX6 and ZR6.

In addition to its safety, technology and comfort improvements, RAV4 has received a visual upgrade.

Exterior changes include new designs for the headlamps, front fog-lamps, radiator grille, front and rear bumpers and rear combination lamps.

The new front mask gives RAV4 a sharper appearance.

RAV4's exterior mirrors now have built-in turn signal indicators.

There are three new exterior colours -Graphite, Sandstone and Liquid Bronze.

Inside, RAV4 has new driver and front passenger air registers, and easier-to-read instrument meters.

Toyota offers nine RAV4 models - all with VVT-i equipped engines and Active All-Wheel Drive.

There are six 2.4-litre four-cylinder models with the choice of five-speed manual or four-speed automatic transmission, and CV, Cruiser and Cruiser L equipment grades.

There are three 3.5-litre V6 models - CV6, SR6 and ZR6 - all with five-speed automatic transmission.

Despite the added value of the new features for RAV4, the prices on most models have not changed.

Four-cylinder Cruiser models have been reduced by $500 while the only price increase is for the V6 SX6 model.

  • Print this article!
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Digg
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • TwitThis
  • Technorati
  • del.icio.us
  • Propeller
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Mixx
  • Facebook

Leave a comment