Home > Motor Racing > Track Racing

Amendment to MINI Challenge Race One Results - (Australia)

May 12th, 2008


As a result of a hearing conducted at Barbagallo Raceway this morning, the results of MINI CHALLENGE race one from yesterday have been amended.

Car #30 (Paul Fiore – Shell Helix Ultra) and Car #5 (Nathan Geier – Sherrin Rentals) each received the equivalent of a drive-through penalty for passing under yellow flag conditions during the event.

This penalty equated to a 23 second addition to both drivers’ overall race time from race one, dropping them to 12th and 13th position respectively.

The penalty handed down to Geier and Paul Fiore elevated Seven Network personality and Series leader, Grant Denyer (DecoRug Motorsport) to the race winner’s position and saw Gary Young (SALTA Constructions) start the top six reverse grid race two from pole position.

Young went on to take his maiden MINI CHALLENGE race victory from Neil McFadyen (Scope Signs & Graphics) and young West Australian star, Nathan Callaghan (Calmack Smash Repairs). Further information will be released following the final race later today.

The amended results from race one are as follows:

  1. Grant Denyer (DecoRug Motorsport)
  2. Damien White (MINI CHALLENGE)
  3. Nathan Callaghan (Calmack Smash Repairs)
  4. Paul Stokell (DecoRug Motorsport)
  5. Neil McFadyen (Scope Signs and Graphics)
  6. Gary Young (SALTA Constructions)
  7. Todd Fiore (Shell Helix Ultra)
  8. Nicholas Stillwell (Bib Stillwell MINI Garage)
  9. Darren Berry (Clipper Motor Yachts)
  10. Mike Sherrin (Sherrin Equipment)
  11. Jim Sweeney (Jim Sweeney Motorsport)
  12. Paul Fiore (Shell Helix Ultra)
  13. Nathan Geier (Sherrin Rentals)



DNF. David Turner (Glory Constructions)

  • Print this article!
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Digg
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • TwitThis
  • Technorati
  • del.icio.us
  • Propeller
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Mixx
  • Facebook

Leave a comment